Our history marks our rural and humble beginnings. The Church of Our Saviour Oatlands began during the Civil War when local residents, unable to travel far because their horses had been requisitioned by one army or the other, gathered for worship in the Oatlands Plantation blacksmith shop. After the Civil War, thanks to the generosity of the historic Carter family, a church building was constructed and then consecrated on August 21, 1878. We built our first parish hall in 1910, gained independence from larger parishes in 1973, and had running water by 1978 and a full-time priest by 1980.
Our history is still evolving. In 2016, the Church of Our Saviour moved to a new building and 26-acre former farm on the north side of the Oatlands Plantation, where we now have room to grow. Our new building reflects the same desire for permanence as the old, being a solid masonry structure designed to last hundreds of years. The style is simple but beautiful, just like the Gospel taught within it. And while enduring it is also humble, like the Saviour we worship. This move also marked our affiliation with the Reformed Episcopal Church, founded in 1873 and now part of the Anglican Church in North America. Our home is new but we continue to remain steadfastly committed to Scriptural worship in the authentic Anglican tradition.